Beetroot Hummus

Easy_Breakfast_Ideas

Who doesn’t love hummus? The texture and the richness of flavours. Oh and the versatility- which actually got me to add beetroots and create beetroot hummus.

Last weekend, while it was pouring I decided to sit at home (read: trying to live the slow life) and whip some healthy ingredients together, with some minor tweaks which were not so minor once I saw the outcome. I had beetroot in the fridge and decided the try a variation. I was very skeptical about the idea of these vastly different flavours coming together but then this pretty pink beauty turned out crazy stupid delicious.

Beetroot_hummus_recipe

I like Hummus but then the people in my life LOVE Hummus and hence get me to whip this beauty often. One batch and I can use it for breakfast, pack mid meals, use it on salads. It sorts the weekly meal plan a lot.

You can adjust the ingredients as per your liking, because it’s perfect in every way.

Below is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  1. Chickpeas (Channa)- Soaked in water overnight, drained and boiled: 1 Cup
  2. Beetroot- 1 medium sized- roasted or cooked
  3. Garlic cloves- 3-4 Minced (2 Garlic cloves would do but since I like my hummus extra garlicy, I add more)-
  4. Tahini- 2 heaping tbsps
  5. Extra virgin olive oil- ¼ cup (Keep some extra olive oil handy)
  6. Zest of 1 large lemon
  7. Juice of 2 medium sized lemons
  8. Salt & black pepper- as per taste
  9. Dry red chili- 1/Chili flakes (As per taste) (Optional)
High_protein_recipes

Beetroot Hummus being whipped

Method:

  1. Boil the beetroot till it becomes soft. If you can easily insert a fork inside it, it’s cooked.
  2. Cool, peel and cut the beetroot. Place it in a food processor and blend. Small pieces will remain, but don’t worry about it.
  3. Throw in the chickpeas, minced garlic, dried red chill whole, tahini, lemon zest and lemon juice in the blender. Blend.
  4. Sprinkle salt, black pepper, some olive oil and blend again.
  5. Check the taste and adjust.
  6. Add more olive oil if it feels dry.

And done.

Hummus_tahini_recipe

Easy_Breakfast_Ideas

Add 1 tsp of olive oil before storing to keep it creamy.

Keeps well for 4-5 days.

It is super rich in protein, good fats and carbohydrates.

Share pictures if you try this! J

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment